Report of the meetings of the Permanent Council held during the Tenth International Congress of Phonetic Sciences in Utrecht, 1-6 August 1983.

- 1. After commemorating the death of Professor Dennis Fry, the President of the Council, the death of Professor Roman Jakobsen, honorary President and founder of the present Council and the death of Prof. Romportl, vice-President, the Council elected Professor Peter Ladefoged as President.
- 2. Professor Eli Fischer-Jørgensen was elected as vice-president.
- 3. The Council agreed to request the collaboration of the Soviet Academy of Sciences in the arrangement of the Eleventh International Congress of Phonetic Sciences to be held under the auspices of the Academy of Sciences of the Estonian Soviet Republic in Tallin, Estonia, USSR in 1987.
- Professors P. Janota, (Czechoslovakia), V. Fromkin (USA), J. Laver (UK), I. Lehiste (USA) M. Remmel (USSR), K. Kohler (F.R. Germany), M. Rossi (France) and M. Sawashima (Japan) were invited to become members of the Council.
- 5. Professors A. Martinet (France) and M. Onishi (Japan) were elevated to the dignity of Honorary Members of the Council.

International Permanent Council

President: P. Ladefoged, USA Vice-President: E. Fischer-Jørgensen, Denmark General Secretary: R. Gsell, France

Honorary Members:

V.A. Artemov, U.S.S.R.
A. de Lacerda, Portugal
A. Martinet, France,
P. Moore, U.S.A.
I. Ochiai, Japan
M. Onishi, Japan
W. Pee, Belgium
A. Rosetti, Rumania
G. Straka, France
E. Zwirner, F.R. Germany

Members:

A.S. Abramson, USA H. Bolla, Hungary R. Charbonneau, Canada L.A. Chistovich, U.S.S.R. A. Cohen, the Netherlands G. Fant, Sweden V. Fromkin, U.S.A. H. Fujisaki, Japan M. Halle, U.S.A. P. Janota, Czsechoslovakia W. Jassem, Poland M. Kloster-Jensen, Norway K. Kohler, F.R. Germany J. Laver, UK B. Lindblom, Sweden B. Malmberg, Sweden T.M. Nicolajeva, USSR K.L. Pike, USA M. Remmel, USSR A. Rigault, Canada M. Rossi, France M. Sawashima, Japan A. Sovijarvi, Finland K.N. Stevens, USA G. Straka, France

Wu, Zong-shi, Rep. China