Preface

As organisers of the 10th International Congress of Phonetic Sciences we saw it as one of our major aims to make sure that the Congress Proceedings would appear in the year of the actual Congress. Through a number of unforeseen circumstances, of which a month long postal strike was merely one, we have not been able to achieve this aim. Nevertheless we are happy to announce in this note the completion of the Proceedings.

In view of the fact that we have sought to give as wide a coverage of the scientific topics of the congress as possible, apart from publishing the full reports of (semi)plenary sessions, and Chairmen's reviews of all Symposia, we have accommodated a large number of section papers as well. This decision has led to the present bulky volume, containing 788 pages of scientific papers.

In order to stay within reasonable bounds we have reluctantly felt forced to restrict the coverage of ceremonial sessions and social events to a bare minimum.

Suffice it to say that the opening statement on behalf of the Permanent Council was given by Prof. A.S. Abramson, who also delivered a moving obituary to the deceased President Prof. D.B. Fry.

Prof. P. Ladefoged of U.C.L.A. was elected as the new President on the final day of the Congress.

During the Opening Ceremony further addresses were given by the Director-General of the Dutch Ministry of Education and Sciences, dr. E. van Spiegel, with a speech on 'Science Policy in the Netherlands' and by the Rector Magnificus of Utrecht University, Prof. O.J. de Jong. Receptions were given by the University of Utrecht, the City of Utrecht and the Province of Utrecht.

For further information about the programme readers are referred to the official Congress Programme.

Special mention should be made of two addresses, by Prof. V.A. Fromkin of U.C.L.A. and Prof. S.G. Nooteboom, Leyden University/I.P.O. Eindhoven, who each gave congress members a bird's eye review of the Congress. We regret that, mainly for reasons of space, we have been unable to publish these remarks which, valuable though they were, after all were meant to be delivered orally.

We are grateful to all authors who have on the whole reacted promptly to

our requests for modifications, for abiding by our deadlines and for trusting us to carry out the final editorial work. We regret that in a few cases we had to resort to reprinting the Abstract version of papers.

We wish to thank all those readers who were kind enough to help us in selecting section papers for possible inclusion in the Proceedings well in advance of their actual appearance. In alphabetical order: Ir. G. Bloothooft, Prof. Dr. R. Collier, Prof. P.H. Damsté, Dr. Tj. de Graaf, Dr. D. Günzburger, Mr. J. 't Hart, Dr. V. van Heuven, Dr. F.J. Koopmans-van Beinum, Dr. S. Marcus, Prof. Dr. S.G. Nooteboom, Prof. L.C.W. Pols, Drs. T. Ringeling, Dr. M.E.H. Schouten, Mr. I.H. Slis, Ir. L. Willems, Dr. W. Zonneveld.

We gratefully acknowledge the unfailing zest and accuracy of our secretary and typist who had to retype all MS's due to a new printing technique, Mrs. A.M. van der Linden and Mr. J.A.M. Renkers.

Finally we wish to thank Mr. H. laPorte of Foris Publications, who provided the Congress with a flying start in turning out the Abstracts Volume well in time before the Congress.

M.P.R. Van den Broecke A. Cohen *Editors*

Acknowledgement

The Editors gratefully acknowledge financial support from the following sources which made the publications of these Proceedings possible: The Foundation for Linguistic Research, funded by The Netherlands Organization for the Advancement of Pure Research (Z.W.O.). The Executive Council of Utrecht University.